The C Score (2.0)

Some NL news: modeling, UGGs and two new feature articles

Posted on: December 12, 2008

Nastia Liukin is still making the most of her win in Beijing four months ago. Here’s some news:

Liukin is pursuing a bit of modeling

Liukin is pursuing a bit of modeling

IG article:

Liukin talked to IG about some of the stuff she’s been up to (see article here) and — this is the big one — confirmed her plans to compete in 2009. As Liukin also mentioned on her Web site, in addition to the Tour of Gymnastics Superstars, the Vanilla Star contract, and all of the TV appearances, she also participated in two exhibitions — one at the Massilia Cup (where she did one of her routines from the Tour) and Alexei Nemov’s (apparently annual) gala. Apparently she will be at the Valeri Liukin Invitational at WOGA this weekend, and will also attend the Cowboys-Giants game.

More importantly (for me, at least), she said of her gymnastics plans:

“As far as my competition plans go, I’m not quite sure. We are taking it one step at a time. I haven’t been home too much, which is the one thing that I wish I could change. I never thought I would say it before, but I miss being in the gym seven hours a day. I am so ready to be back training and getting ready for next year. The Visa (U.S.) Championships are going to be in Dallas in 2009, so I am looking forward to competing in front of a home crowd!”

She goes on to say that she is “creating new goals and dreams” for herself.

Finally, Liukin also had some nice words for Marta Karolyi:

“Also, (U.S. team coordinator) Marta Karolyi — I have so much respect for her and what she does. Without her, I wouldn’t have had a chance to try to accomplish my dreams. She always made me believe in myself, especially when times were tough.”

Nastia Liukin modeling in the pit

Nastia Liukin modeling in the pit

Article in WWD:

Liukin was the subject of this WWD Beauty article.

The article has a good summary of all of Liukin’s endorsement deals, along with the obligatory comments from her agent and others on how the field will eventually dry up. Also of note, Liukin owns equity in several of her projects.

In other news of which I was unaware, Liukin’s central message is promoting healthy lifestyles for women, specifically with respect to obesity. Was this clear? I thought her message was about fashion. Honestly. That would still fit in with her agent’s goal of “put[ting] her in a position where her success isn’t tied to sports.”

Liukin has always had an interest in modeling, and she did some shots for WWD, all of which appear to have been shot in a gym, which is cool. I actually really like them. The one I’ve shown here is my favorite. I find the black-and-white one distinctly less interesting. Andrea at Live.Breath.Love.Gymnastics has the rest.

Note: the title of the article, “Strength Training with Nastia Liukin,” is deceiving. It’s not about strength training at all, at least not in the athletic sense of the term. It appears to be a somewhat reaching reference to her motivation and drive.

Finally, this tidbit: “Prior to the Olympics, Liukin capped off her girlishly loopy autograph with a heart; now she includes the five Olympic rings incorporated into 2008 with the word “Gold” written underneath.” I … have no words. Sorry.

NL UGGs, currently valued at $1,100

NL UGGs, currently valued at $1,100

Hope, faith and UGGs:

All I have to say about UGGs is ugh. I hate them. They’re bulky, people wear them during the summer despite the fact that they are clearly meant for winter, they’re not actually waterproof, and they cost a fortune! Enough said. Anyway, apparently every year UGG Australia does a charity fundraiser in which they ask celebrities to decorate a pair of UGGs for auction. This year both Liukin and Shawn Johnson participated. Johnson went with a pink and green peace-based them (surprise, surprise) and Liukin went for an all-black hope-and-faith thing.

Abigail Breslin put the faces of furry animals on hers. Rachael Ray wrote YUM-O on one of hers, and if you didn’t want to kill her already, that should push it over the edge. Kelly Ripa did a bedazzled number, Christian Siriano of Project Runway covered his in fur, Ashlee Simpson drew some weird stick figures and Whoopi Goldberg did fringe. (My favorite is T.R. Knight’s — he did a kind of cool vine-y drawing.) Interestingly, SJ’s are currently bidding at $2,000 while NL’s are at $1,100. Neither of them can touch Ripa at $2,700 or Ray at $2,235. Basically, these bids are clearly uncorrelated with level of obnoxiousness.

4 Responses to "Some NL news: modeling, UGGs and two new feature articles"

“Marketing Hype with Nastia Liukin” may have been a better headline than “Strength Training with Nastia Liukin” but maybe it wouldn’t have sold as well.

Ha, exactly.

If she would tell me how she can be so muscular without being bulky …

LMAO She is now even copying Shannon Miller in the charity apartment. Give me a break Nastia

Nastia’s agent is the most annoying agent ever.

Leave a Reply

