The C Score (2.0)

Random: Amazing floor routine

Posted on: June 11, 2009

From Blythe, Level-10 Kayla Williams. I don’t usually post about non-elite gymnasts, but this floor routine really took my breath away.

Opening pass is a double layout, followed by a double pike. Plus a triple full as a side pass …. It is rare to see these skills performed so high and landing so upright. I was honestly amazed.

According to the sources, Williams has received an invitation to the Karolyi Ranch and is planning to go elite this summer. But she seems to be expressing interest in college gymnastics.

The floor routine has a bit of a Shawn-Johnsonesque dance component (that is, somewhat choppy and choreographically lacking), but without Johnson’s spunk, or at least the spunk she had with her old floor routine if not as much with the one performed at the Olympics.

Update: In the cited newspaper article, Williams reports that Marta Karolyi said:

“She said she’d like to see improvements on my flexibility and my artistry on floor [exercise]. She wants me to show off a little more on my dance, but other than that she said that I had really big skills and she’s excited to see what would happen if my flexibility gets better. I’m at home in splits [and] I’m [at the gym] in splits. I’m just trying to get more flexible.”

3 Responses to "Random: Amazing floor routine"

Wow, her tumbling is fantastic. That second pass is awesome…chest high, stuck cold. Well done!
Interesting to hear what Marta the Crazy had to say. I’ll be curious to see what happens with her!

Shawn Johnson looks like a ballerina compared to this girl.

Wow! Shawn Johnson is an amazing gymnast! She has the moves! I watched her bring home the gold for the U.S. in the 2008 Beijing Olympics-she stays so focused and is very mature for her age! Plus I am the same age and height as she is! And I’m also from Iowa!

Leave a comment

About The C Score

First there was A score and B score, now D score and E score. Where is the C score? Right here. In the form of my random thoughts about women's artistic gymnastics.

Pages

June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930